Review: The Secret of the Pattern, Claudia Sacher. By Niamh Kingsland.

The exhibition entitled The Secret of the Pattern by Claudia Sacher has just finished at the Customs House. It ran from 27 September – 20 November 2016. The work itself was mostly monotone with a mix of charcoal and ink which I found very interesting.

My first impression was of amazement. When I first entered the gallery my eyes couldn’t focus because there was just so much that I was interested in looking at it all and wanted to spend as much time in there as possible.

I liked the big wall hanging with the string attached to it. I found it so interesting because it seemed to have many meanings behind the whole image – it seemed to tie everything in.

big

My favourite piece was the photo of the twins with the text written over the top of it. I like how it had been merged with another image so it looks like the ‘twins’ are the same person.

image2

I don’t have much of an opinion on what could be done better but I didn’t like the area in the annexe space which had cloth hanging and the random arm holding a shopping bag – I didn’t understand the relevance of these pieces.

image2

I would recommend this to others because it’s something that will make you think of all the different possibilities of creating art, which I think are never ending.

From this exhibition I have learned that you can keep your work a mystery and not be afraid to show something personal. It is okay to make things that people don’t understand.

By Niamh Kingsland.

One thought on “Review: The Secret of the Pattern, Claudia Sacher. By Niamh Kingsland.

  1. Hello Niamh, thank you for writing the review, I enjoyed reading it. It made me smile as well, as you might be right about the clothes….I’ll tell you why: I wanted to hang a photograpgh of my mother in the show, as a child, I only had this one of her first communion and I overpainted it. I hung it high so maybe no one would see it…she is holding a little clothes bag as part of her first communion outfit with a handkerchief in. I was supposed to show a film on the screen but when the show was up I decided against it as I wanted quiteness in the space, now there was the screen and it looked like it was supposed to show a film and it was’nt switched on…so I decided to integrate a cloth, combine it with the photograph of my mum….maybe I should have had a little text beside it, a poetic text or just saying: overpainting of my mum…thank you for your critic! much apppreciated, yours Claudia Sacher

    Like

Leave a comment